About EXAM Standardized test processes, reusable test cases, testing across different sites

"Since 2006, AUDI AG, Volkswagen AG and MicroNova have jointly developed the test automation solution EXAM (short for EXtended Automation Method). The methodology for the graphical development of test cases has since established itself as uniform standard solution for the test automation for hardware-in-the-loop (HiL) simulators within the Volkswagen Group. In addition to the use in the HiL simulation and test automation EXAM is also suitable for industrial automation, embedded development and software-in-the-loop (SiL) simulation." 


Unified language for test situations
As a comprehensive methodology based on the Unified Modelling Language (UML), EXAM creates a uniform, platform-independent language for the representation of test situations. With this tool companies are able to establish uniform testing processes, ensure the reusability of test cases and run tests together with partners or suppliers beyond the boundaries of department and enterprise. Thanks to the high level of user-friendliness no in-depth programming skills are required to graphically model test procedures in sequence diagrams or activity diagrams. 

Freeware license
EXAM's full scope of functions is free of charge - unique for a solution of this kind: The tooling is under Freeware license, the core libraries are available as open source. As part of the further development all parties concerned have always involved the users rather strongly. The result is an advanced system with tooling and libraries where both user-friendliness and functionality are equally significant.

For more information please visit  www.exam-ta.de (in German)

test

Über EXAM Einheitliche Testprozesse, wiederverwertbare Testfälle, übergreifendes Testen

Seit 2006 entwickeln die AUDI AG, die Volkswagen AG und MicroNova gemeinsam die Testautomatisierungslösung EXAM (kurz für EXtended Automation Method). Die Methodik zur grafischen Entwicklung von Testfällen hat sich seitdem als konzerneinheitliche Standardlösung für die Testautomatisierung für Hardware-in-the-Loop(HiL)-Simulatoren im Volkswagen Konzern etabliert. EXAM eignet sich neben dem Einsatz in der HiL-Simulation und der Prüfstand­sautomation auch für die Industrieautomation, Embedded-Entwicklung und Software-in-the-Loop(SiL)-Simulation.

Einheitliche Sprache für Testsachverhalte

Als umfassende Methodik auf Basis der Unified Modeling Language (UML) schafft EXAM eine einheitliche, plattformunabhängige Sprache zur Darstellung von Testsachverhalten. Unternehmen können mit dem Tool einheitliche Testprozesse schaffen, die Wieder­verwendbarkeit von Testfällen sicherstellen und gemeinsam mit Partnern oder Zulieferern über Abteilungs- und Unternehmensgrenzen hinaus testen. Dank der hohen Anwender­freundlichkeit sind keine tiefergehenden Programmier­kenntnisse erforderlich, um Testabläufe grafisch in Sequenzdiagrammen oder Aktivitätsdiagrammen zu modellieren.

Freeware-Lizenz
EXAM steht im vollen Funktionsumfang kostenlos zur Verfügung – einzigartig für eine Lösung dieser Art:  Das Tooling steht unter Freeware-Lizenz, die Core-Bibliotheken sind als Open Source erhältlich. Im Zuge der kontinuierlichen Weiterentwicklung beziehen alle Beteiligten die Anwender seit jeher sehr stark mit ein. Das Ergebnis ist ein ausgereiftes System mit Tooling und Bibliotheken, bei dem Nutzerfreundlichkeit und Funktionalität gleichermaßen zählen.

Weitere Informationen unter www.exam-ta.de.