CPCM Network Audit – Keep an Eye on the Entire Network

A detailed, comprehensive view of the network configuration is not always a given for operators. Incorrect or inconsistent base station configurations lead to significant loss of quality, which is also noticeable for customers. An increase in disconnections – known as the dropped-call rate – is another possible result, as well as connection problems or problems with voice quality.

With "CPCM Network Audit“, MicroNova offers an out-of-the-box solution for the complete visualization of network parameters. It reads the current live network independently of vendor, region, and technology, and records the corresponding information in a central database for auditing.

Consistency Check of Content

The first step of network auditing takes place within CPCM. The system checks the content consistency of the imported live data using an integrated rules-based engine. Violations are logged according to their severity (blocking/warning) and provided to the user via report mechanisms. A user-friendly graphical interface makes it easy to manage the corresponding rules. The optional dashboard allows the results to be presented in a configurable overview.

In addition to the basic functionality that includes creating, deleting, and editing consistency checks and rules, users can generate new rules based on copies of existing ones. It is also possible to exchange rules with other users. The network auditing solution comes with a set of default consistency rules, which the user can expand as required. Common rules include checking handover connections (number of handovers per cell, target frequency, etc.), frequency plans, cell parameters, dependencies between parameters, operator-specific dependencies, and compliance with operator requirements.

CPCM Network Audit considers all parameters available via the vendor‘s respective standard OSS Northbound Interface (NBI); this also contains parameters that may have been configured automatically by a Self-Organizing Network (SON). Consequently, the solution is „SON-ready“, i.e., able to monitor SON systems. Configurable rules can be used to generate corresponding reports and alerts.

Managing Network-wide Default Templates

Another important functionality of CPCM Network Audit is the support of operator-specific default values (default templates) over the entire network. Users can easily create configuration templates according to certain criteria and check them against the live network. Potential configurations include indoor/outdoor stations, stadiums, and events, etc. All imported network configurations are archived and available for further comparisons as well as evaluations (history function). This makes it possible to monitor Service Level Agreements (SLAs) between the network operator and third-party companies (managed service).

Thanks to the vendor-neutral and cross-technology comparisons, MicroNova‘s auditing system can play to its strengths, especially in the areas between management regions of different vendors. In this case, the standard features of proprietary systems are usually inadequate. Since CPCM Network Audit already stores a complete map of the Radio Access Network (RAN) within a central database – including history – the system can be connected as a cross-network data source for comparison with other systems. Examples include inventory, optimization, and measurement.

The network auditing solution from MicroNova allows a complete review of the network without needing to include (off-the-shelf) planning tools. The main functionalities of CPCM Network Audit are:

  • Vendor-neutral and cross-technology view of the network (Network Reconciliation)
  • Complete database for other tools such as optimization, SON, inventory, etc.
  • Integration of proprietary OSS interfaces via standard interfaces (NBI) for:
    • Huawei
    • Nokia
    • Ericsson
  • Review of the current network configuration based on consistency rules or compared to operator-specific default values
  • Reporting mechanisms for:
    • Network configuration history (Change History)
    • SON Change History
    • Consistency violations in the radio network ?

CPCM Network Audit – Das ganze Netz im Blick

Für Netzbetreiber ist die detaillierte, umfassende Sicht auf die Netzparametrisierung keine Selbstverständlichkeit. Fehlerhafte oder inkonsistente Konfigurationen der Basisstationen führen zu erheblichen Qualitätseinbußen, die auch für den Mobilfunkkunden spürbar sind. Ein Anstieg der Verbindungsabbrüche – die sogenannte Drop Call Rate – kann ebenso die Folge sein wie Probleme beim Verbindungsaufbau oder der Sprachqualität.

Mit CPCM Network Audit bietet MicroNova ein Out-of-the-Box System zur vollständigen Visualisierung der Netzparameter. Die Lösung liest hersteller-, regions- und technologieübergreifend das aktuelle Wirknetz aus und legt die entsprechenden Informationen zur Prüfung in einer zentralen Datenbasis ab.

Inhaltliche Konsistenz prüfen und Konsistenzregeln komfortabel verwalten

Der erste Schritt des Network-Auditing findet bereits innerhalb von CPCM statt. Dazu überprüft das System die importierten „Live-Daten“ mit Hilfe einer integrierten regelbasierten Engine auf ihre inhaltliche Konsistenz. Verletzungen werden entsprechend ihres Schweregrads (Blocking / Warning) protokolliert und dem Anwender über Reportmechanismen zur Verfügung gestellt. Über eine grafische Bedienoberfläche lassen sich die entsprechenden Regeln bequem verwalten. Durch das optional erhältliche Dashboard können die Ergebnisse zudem in einer frei konfigurierbaren Übersicht dargestellt werden.

Neben der Grundfunktionalität, zu der das Anlegen, Löschen und Bearbeiten von Konsistenzchecks und -regeln zählt, kann der Anwender neue Vorgaben basierend auf Kopien bestehender generieren. Auch ist ein Austausch von Regeln mit anderen Nutzern möglich. Die Network-Auditing-Lösung enthält bereits einen Satz von Default-Konsistenzregeln, die Anwender beliebig erweitern können. Gängige solche Rules sind etwa das Überprüfen von Handover-Beziehungen (Anzahl der Verbindungsübergaben pro Zelle, Zielfrequenz etc.), Frequenzplänen, Zellparametern, Abhängigkeiten zwischen den Parametern, betreiberspezifischen Abhängigkeiten oder der Einhaltung von Betreibervorgaben.

CPCM Network Audit betrachtet alle Parameter, die über das jeweilige Standard OSS Northbound Interface (NBI) des Herstellers verfügbar sind; das enthält auch mögliche von einem Self-Organizing Network(SON) automatisch konfigurierte Parameter. Somit ist die Lösung „SON-ready“, also auch für das Monitoring von SON-Systemen vorbereitet. Über konfigurierbare Regeln können entsprechende Reports und Benachrichtigungen bei Grenzwertüberschreitungen generiert werden.

Verwalten von netzwerkweiten Default-Templates

Eine weitere wichtige Funktion von CPCM Network Audit ist die Unterstützung von operatorspezifischen Default-Werten (Default Templates) über das gesamte Netzwerk hinweg. Anwender können komfortabel Konfigurations-Templates nach bestimmten Gesichtspunkten erstellen und gegen das Live-Netz prüfen. Mögliche Konfigurationen sind beispielsweise Indoor/Outdoor-Stationen, Stadion oder Events. Alle importierten Netzkonfigurationen werden in einem Archiv gespeichert und stehen für weitere Vergleiche und Auswertungen zur Verfügung (History-Funktion). Auf diese Weise lassen sich auch Service Level Agreements (SLAs) zwischen dem Netzbetreiber und Drittfirmen (Managed Service) überwachen.

Durch die hersteller- und technologieübergreifenden Abgleiche, kann das Auditing-System von MicroNova seine Stärken vor allem in den Gebieten zwischen Managementregionen verschiedener Hersteller ausspielen – hier sind die Standardfunktionalitäten der herstellerspezifischen Systeme in der Regel unzureichend. Da CPCM Network Audit innerhalb einer zentralen Datenbasis bereits eine vollständige Abbildung des Radio Access Network(RAN) inklusive Historie speichert, kann das System als netzübergreifende Datenquelle zum Abgleich an andere Systeme angebunden werden. Beispiele sind die Bereiche Inventory, Optimierung oder Messung.

Die Network-Auditing-Lösung von MicroNova ermöglicht eine komplette Überprüfung des Netzes ohne die Einbindung von Planungs-Tools (off the shelf). Hauptfunktionalitäten von CPCM Network Audit sind:

  • Hersteller- und technologieübergreifende Sicht auf das Netz (Network-Reconciliation)
  • Vollständige Datenbasis für andere Tools wie Optimierung, SON, Inventory etc.
  • Integration der herstellerspezifischen OSS Interfaces via Standard Schnittstellen (NBI) für:
    • Huawei
    • Nokia
    • Ericsson
  • Überprüfung der aktuellen Netzkonfiguration auf Basis von Konsistenzregeln oder gegen operatorspezifische Default-Werte
  • Reporting Mechanismen für:
    • Netzwerk-Konfigurations-Historie (Change History)
    • SON Change History
    • Konsistenzverletzungen im Funknetz