EXAM ALM Synchronizer

Synchronizing test cases and test results between ALM systems and EXAM


Overview

Automobile manufacturers utilize several different applications for test management purposes. This allows them to maketest processes for validating the software of Electronic Control Units (ECUs) as efficient as possible.Application Lifecycle Management (ALM) systems are used for developing, refining, operating and supporting ECU software. Test automation solutions such as EXAM must therefore communicate with these ALM tools in order to receive test specifications and feed results back accordingly.

However, manually reconciling this data between the test automation solution and the ALM tool can easily give rise to errors and, for larger numbers of tests, is too time-consuming. The EXAM add-on “EXAM ALM Synchronizer” enables the automatic transfer of the test specification of the software under test between the respective ALM application and EXAM. Attributes and status are transmitted at the same time. The results are fed straight back to the ALM tool once the test has been completed, providing an up-to-date overview in the tool. Synchronizing data between the ALM system and EXAM in this way makes for a reliable, efficient and fully traceable test process.

Further Information


Benefits of the EXAM ALM Synchronizer

  • Keeps test specifications in sync:
    Specifications can be transferred from the respective ALM system to EXAM without the need for manual input. The attributes also allow additional information to be made available in both tools. Additionally, synchronization highlights differences in specification status between the respective tools, thereby helping to make targeted adjustments to the test cases.

  • Ensures full traceability in the test process:
    Automated synchronization ensures that a unique ID, including attributes, is used for each test case, all the way from the ALM system through automation to the result and back to test management. This creates the traceability that is required for passing the assessments for Automotive SPICE and ISO 26262.

  • Provides process stability and reduces error:
    The automated, continuous process significantly reduces the likelihood of synchronization errors, thus contributing to quality assurance.

  • Cuts costs through automation:
    The automated synchronization process is time-efficient and therefore costs less than manual data reconciliation.

  • Provides a basis for further development:
    The EXAM ALM Synchronizer makes the latest test results available quickly for further analysis in the ALM application. Analyses may cover such matters as test coverage and the errors still present in the test object. This is facilitated through direct transparency.

  • Lays an ideal foundation for TCG:
    Because the test specifications end up in EXAM automatically, use of the EXAM ALM Synchronizer provides the perfect basis for utilizing the Test Case Generator (TCG), which employs a keyword-driven approach to generate test cases automatically.

EXAM ALM Synchronizer Windchill

Webinar recording, duration: 8 minutes
Content:

In this EXAM video you will learn how to synchronize test cases from PTC Windchill RV&S to EXAM using the EXAM ALM Synchronizer. This is necessary for a continuous traceability between the test management system and the test automation. In order to ensure the consistency of the test results, these can also be transferred back from EXAM to PTC Windchill RV&S.


How the ALM Synchronizer works:

  • Synchronizing the test specification to EXAM: Test specifications, attributes and test descriptions are transferred from the ALM tool to EXAM, providing the basis for generating test cases. The synchronization process also highlights differences and allows them to be transferred back to EXAM.
  • The test cases are implemented and executed in EXAM.
  • Once the test run has ended, the EXAM ALM Synchronizer transfers the test results back to the ALM system.

The EXAM ALM Synchronizer currently supports the following tools:

  • IBM Engineering Test Management (ETM)
  • PTC Windchill
  • Siemens Polarion

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you wish to connect other ALM systems: sales-testing@who-needs-spam.micronova.de.


Licensing model

The EXAM ALM Synchronizer is available under a floating license.

Both rental and purchase licenses are available in different license packages with graduated pricing. Please contact sales-testing@who-needs-spam.micronova.de for an individual offer.

Contact


Abdülkerim Dagli
Sales
sales-testing@who-needs-spam.micronova.de
+49 8139 9300-0

Mehr

News: Customer magazine InNOVAtion 01-2022 more

Press Release: EXAM 5.0 now available more

Career: Project Manager (m/f/d) more

EXAM Testautomation - Contact

MicroNova AG
Unterfeldring 6
85256 Vierkirchen

    +49 8139 9300-46
    info@who-needs-spam.exam-ta.de

» How to find us

EXAM ALM Synchronizer

Synchronisation von Testfällen und -ergebnissen zwischen ALM-Systemen und EXAM


Überblick

Um Testprozesse bei der Validierung der Software von elektronischen Steuergeräten möglichst effizient zu gestalten, kommen bei Automobilherstellern verschiedene Anwendungen für das Testmanagement zum Einsatz. Für die Entwicklung, Weiterentwicklung sowie für den Betrieb und Support der Steuergeräte-Software werden Application-Lifecycle-Management-Systeme (ALM-Systeme) verwendet. Testautomatisierungslösungen wie EXAM müssen folglich mit diesen ALM-Tools kommunizieren, um Testspezifikationen zu erhalten und Ergebnisse entsprechend zurückspielen zu können.

Den Datenabgleich zwischen Testautomatisierungslösung und ALM-Tool manuell zu pflegen, ist allerdings fehleranfällig und bei größeren Testzahlen außerdem zu zeitaufwändig. Das EXAM-Add-on „EXAM ALM Synchronizer“ ermöglicht den automatischen Transfer der Testspezifikation der zu prüfenden Software zwischen der jeweiligen ALM-Anwendung und EXAM. Attribute und Status werden dabei mit übertragen. Nach Durchführung der Tests werden die Ergebnisse direkt zurückgespielt, um im ALM-Tool eine aktuelle Übersicht zu ermöglichen. Diese Synchronisation zwischen ALM-System und EXAM sorgt für einen zuverlässigen, effizienten und durchgängig nachvollziehbaren Testprozess.

Weitere Informationen


Vorteile des EXAM ALM Synchronizer

  • Testspezifikationen synchron halten:
    Spezifikationen lassen sich ohne manuellen Aufwand vom jeweiligen ALM-System zu EXAM übertragen. Attribute ermöglichen außerdem, zusätzliche Informationen in beiden Tools verfügbar zu machen. Die Synchronisation stellt dabei auch die Unterschiede zwischen den Spezifikationsständen der jeweiligen Tools dar und unterstützt dadurch eine gezielte Anpassung der Testfälle.
  • Durchgängige Nachverfolgbarkeit (Traceability) im Testprozess:
    Die automatische Synchronisation gewährleistet, dass die Verwendung einer eindeutigen ID, inkl. Attribute, je Testfall vom ALM-System über die Automatisierung bis zum Ergebnis und wieder zurück ins Testmanagement sichergestellt ist. Die so erlangte Traceability ist für ein erfolgreiches Abschneiden bei den Assessments für Automotive SPICE und ISO 26262 erforderlich.
  • Prozessstabilität und Reduzierung von Fehlern:
    Der automatisierte, kontinuierliche Ablauf reduziert die Fehleranfälligkeit bei der Synchronisation signifikant und trägt so zur Qualitätssicherung bei.
  • Kostenreduktion durch Automatisierung:
    Durch die zeiteffiziente automatische Synchronisation verringern sich die Kosten im Vergleich zu einem manuellen Abgleich der Daten.
  • Basis für Weiterentwicklung:
    Die aktuellen Testergebnisse stehen mithilfe des EXAM ALM Synchronizer schnell für die weitere Auswertung in der ALM-Anwendung zur Verfügung. Beispiele für solche Auswertungen sind die Testabdeckung oder die noch im Testobjekt vorhandenen Fehler. Dies wird durch die direkte Transparenz ermöglicht.
  • Ideale Grundlage für TCG: Da die Testspezifikationen automatisch nach EXAM gelangen, bildet die Verwendung des EXAM ALM Synchronizer die perfekte Basis für den Einsatz des Test Case Generators (TCG), der die automatische Erstellung von Testfällen durch einen schlüsselwortgetriebenen Ansatz realisiert.

EXAM ALM Synchronizer Windchill (Englisch)

Webinar-Aufzeichnung, Dauer: 8 Minuten
Inhalt:

In diesem EXAM-Video erfahren Sie, wie sich Testfälle mit dem EXAM ALM Synchronizer von PTC Windchill RV&S nach EXAM synchronisieren lassen. Dies ist erforderlich, um eine durchgängige Traceability zwischen dem Testmanagement-System und der Testautomatisierung zu erlangen. Um diese Durchgängigkeit auch für die Testergebnisse sicherzustellen, können diese ebenfalls von EXAM nach PTC Windchill RV&S zurück übertragen werden.


Funktionsweise des EXAM ALM Synchronizers:

  • Synchronisation der Testspezifikation nach EXAM: Testspezifikationen, Attribute sowie Testbeschreibungen werden aus dem ALM-Tool zu EXAM übertragen und dienen als Basis für die Testfallerstellung. Bei der Synchronisation lassen sich Unterschiede anzeigen und wieder zurück zu EXAM transferieren.
  • Die Testfälle werden in EXAM implementiert und ausgeführt.
  • Nach Ende des Testlaufs transferiert der EXAM ALM Synchronizer die Testergebnisse wieder zurück ins ALM-System.

Aktuell unterstützt der EXAM ALM Synchronizer folgende Tools:

  • IBM Engineering Test Management (ETM)
  • PTC Windchill
  • Siemens Polarion

Für die Anbindung weiterer ALM-Systeme kontaktieren Sie uns gerne: sales-testing@who-needs-spam.micronova.de.


Lizenzmodell

Der EXAM ALM Synchronizer ist unter Floating-Lizenz erhältlich.

Es sind sowohl Miet- als auch Kauflizenzen in verschiedenen Lizenzpaketen mit Preisstaffelung verfügbar. Für ein individuelles Angebot kontaktieren Sie bitte sales-testing@who-needs-spam.micronova.de.

Ansprechpartner


Abdülkerim Dagli
Vertrieb
sales-testing@who-needs-spam.micronova.de
+49 8139 9300-0

Mehr

News: Aktuelle Kundenzeitschrift InNOVAtion 01-2022 mehr

Presse: MicroNova zählt zu „Bayerns Best 50“ mehr

Karriere:  Senior Systemadministrator (m/w/d) mehr

EXAM Testautomation - Kontakt


MicroNova AG
Unterfeldring 6
85256 Vierkirchen

    +49 8139 9300-46
    info@who-needs-spam.exam-ta.de

» Anfahrtsplan