Cyber security for vehicles

Support in the implementation of UNECE regulations

The legal requirements of the ‘United Nations Economic Commission for Europe’ (UNECE) are intended to better protect the ECU architecture in modern passenger cars, vans, trucks and buses against hacker attacks. This applies both to attacks from outside, i.e. from the Internet, and to those that exploit vulnerabilities within the system, for example the vehicle hotspot.

The regulation UN R155 for the Cyber Security Management System (CSMS) and regulation UN R156 for the Software Update Management System (SUMS) therefore pose challenges for the automotive industry. In order to avoid jeopardizing the approval of new vehicle models, development and production departments need to quickly build up know-how on the topic of cyber security and establish corresponding processes, methods and tools.

Further Information

MicroNova supports OEMs and suppliers in implementing these EU requirements, combining the years of experience of its consultants in the field of ECU development and validation with the expertise of its partner company SecOps Solutions, whose technology consultants develop innovative cyber security solutions with a focus on product cyber security, DevSecOps, ISO 21434 and key lifecycle management for the automotive industry.

Custom services for cyber security projects

  • Establishing a Cyber Security Management (CSM) system taking into account cyber security risk management: By using standardized tools and methods, MicroNova supports companies in the fast and efficient implementation of cyber-secure development projects. The central building block here is to establish a Cyber Security Management (CMS) system. Clients benefit from our experts’ years of experience in the validation of electronic components in vehicle development.
  • Threat assessment: Analysis and assessment of potential threats in terms of probability of occurrence and severity. A risk analysis helps with the decision whether and which measures need to be taken. The downstream cyber risk management identifies and quantifies the risks, from which it is possible to derive the appropriate measures.
  • Identification and prioritization of potential vulnerabilities of a system with regard to cyber security

In order to be able to adapt processes in good time, it is necessary to continuously assess the situation. Cyber security processes that MicroNova introduces to companies are based on the specifications of the ISO 21434 standard.

Being able to reuse proven process templates and know-how saves time and costs. Moreover, the internal development of skills with the help of our experts ensures independence in the long term.

Consulting for development departments

  • Selection and implementation of tools to support cyber security measures on-chip, e.g. encryption/signing-as-a-service, certificate/PKI support
  • Measures that go hand-in-hand with development such as Vulnerability Analysis and Risk Assessment (VARA), Risk Management, Static Application Security Testing, Cyber Security Requirements

Integration and verification

  • Testing with activated cyber security measures to accompany development
  • Continuous verification of compliance with and effectiveness of cyber security precautions (Cyber Security Measure Verification)

Advice & tools for production

  • Secure provision of crypto material all the way to the ECU to validate data traffic after delivery of the vehicle (such as for over-the-air software updates)
  • Secure and automated synchronization of the crypto material with KLM (Key Lifecycle Management) systems of tier-one suppliers or OEMs
  • End-of-line tests of cyber security measures on-chip

Process example of cyber security project consulting

Through its consulting services, MicroNova supports companies in the automotive industry according to where they are in terms of cyber security. This starts with workshops to introduce the topic, including a needs assessment and an initial overview of the ISO 21434 standard. Other consulting packages include a detailed security gap analysis with cyber security concept or a comprehensive cyber security project package according to ISO 21434.


Contact


Abdülkerim Dagli
Sales
sales-testing@who-needs-spam.micronova.de
+49 8139 9300-0

Mehr

News: Customer magazine InNOVAtion 01-2022 more

Press Release: New: EXAM ALM Synchronizer more

Career: HiL Models Specialist (m/f/d) more

MicroNova - Contact

MicroNova AG
Unterfeldring 6
85256 Vierkirchen

    +49 8139 9300-0
    info@who-needs-spam.micronova.de

» How to find us

Cyber Security für Fahrzeuge

Unterstützung bei der Umsetzung der UNECE-Regularien

Die gesetzlichen Vorgaben der „Wirtschaftskommission der Vereinten Nationen für Europa“ (UNECE) sollen die Steuergerätearchitektur in modernen Personenkraftwagen, Lieferwagen, Lastwagen und Bussen besser gegen Hacker-Angriffe schützen. Dies gilt sowohl für Angriffe von außen, also aus dem Internet, als auch für solche, die Schwachstellen innerhalb des Systems ausnutzen, zum Beispiel des Fahrzeug-Hotspots.

Die Regularien UN R155 für das Cyber Security Management System (CSMS) und UN R156 für das Software Update Management System (SUMS) stellen die Automobilbranche damit vor Herausforderungen: Um die Zulassung neuer Fahrzeugmodelle nicht zu gefährden, müssen Entwicklungsabteilungen und Produktion schnell Know-how zum Thema Cyber Security aufbauen sowie entsprechende Prozesse, Methoden und Tools etablieren.

Weitere Informationen

MicroNova unterstützt OEMs und Zulieferunternehmen bei der Umsetzung dieser EU-Anforderungen und kombiniert dazu die langjährige Erfahrung seiner Consultants im Bereich Steuergeräteentwicklung und -validierung mit der Expertise des Partnerunternehmens SecOps Solutions. Dessen Technologieberater entwickeln innovative Cyber-Security-Lösungen mit Schwerpunkten in den Bereichen Product Cyber Security, DevSecOps, ISO 21434 und Key Lifecycle Management für die Automobilbranche.

Passgenaue Leistungen für Cyber-Security-Projekte

  • Aufbau eines Cyber-Security-Management(CSM)-Systems unter Berücksichtigung des Cyber-Security-Risikomanagements: Durch den Einsatz standardisierter Tools und Methoden unterstützt MicroNova Unternehmen bei der schnellen und effizienten Realisierung von cyber-sicheren Entwicklungsprojekten. Der zentrale Baustein dabei ist der Aufbau eines Cyber-Security-Management(CMS)-Systems. Auftraggeber profitieren von der langjährigen Erfahrung unserer Experten bei der Absicherung elektronischer Komponenten in der Fahrzeugentwicklung.
  • Threat Assessment: Analyse und Beurteilung potenzieller Bedrohungen hinsichtlich Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit und Schweregrad. Eine Risikoanalyse hilft bei der Entscheidung, ob und welche Maßnahmen getroffen werden müssen. Das nachgelagerte Cyber Risk Management identifiziert und quantifiziert die Risiken. Daraus lassen sich die geeigneten Maßnahmen ableiten.
  • Identifikation und Priorisierung möglicher Schwachstellen eines Systems hinsichtlich Cyber Security

Um Prozesse rechtzeitig anpassen zu können, ist eine kontinuierliche Lagebeurteilung erforderlich. Prozesse, die MicroNova im Bereich Cyber Security bei Unternehmen einführt, orientieren sich an den Vorgaben der Norm ISO 21434.

Die Wiederverwendbarkeit von bewährten Prozess-Templates und Know-how spart dabei Zeit und Kosten. Außerdem sorgt der interne Kompetenzaufbau mithilfe unserer Experten langfristig für Unabhängigkeit.

Beratung für Entwicklungsabteilungen

  • Auswahl und Implementierung von Tools zur Unterstützung von Cyber Security Measures on-chip, z. B. Encryption/Signing-as-a-Service, Certificate-/PKI-Support
  • Entwicklungsbegleitende Maßnahmen wie Vulnerability Analysis und Risk Assessment (VARA), Risk Management, Static Application Security Testing, Cyber Security Requirements

Integration und Verifikation

  • Entwicklungsbegleitendes Testen mit aktivierten Cyber-Security-Maßnahmen
  • Kontinuierliche Überprüfung der Einhaltung und Wirksamkeit von Cyber-Security-Vorkehrungen (Cyber Security Measure Verification)

Beratung & Tools für die Produktion

  • Sichere Bereitstellung von Crypto-Material bis ins Steuergerät zur Absicherung des Datenverkehrs nach Auslieferung des Fahrzeugs (z. B. für Software-Updates over-the-air)
  • Sichere und automatisierte Synchronisierung des Crypto-Materials mit KLM(Key Lifecycle Management)-Systemen von Tier-One-Zulieferern oder OEMs
  • End-Of-Line-Tests von Cyber Security Measures on-chip

Prozessbeispiel Consulting Projekt Cyber Security

Mit seinem Consulting-Angebot unterstützt MicroNova Unternehmen der Automobilbranche genau dort, wo sich diese beim Thema Cyber Security gerade befinden. Das beginnt bei Workshops zum Einstieg ins Thema, inklusive Bedarfsermittlung und einem ersten Überblick über die Norm ISO 21434. Weitere Beratungspakete umfassen eine ausführliche Security-Gap-Analyse mit Cyber-Security-Konzept oder ein umfassendes Cyber-Security-Projektpaket nach ISO 21434.


Ansprechpartner


Abdülkerim Dagli
Vertrieb
sales-testing@who-needs-spam.micronova.de
+49 8139 9300-0

Mehr

News: Aktuelle Kundenzeitschrift InNOVAtion 01-2022 mehr

Presse: MicroNova und AVL kooperieren mehr

Karriere:  Senior Systemadministrator (m/w/d) mehr

MicroNova - Kontakt


MicroNova AG
Unterfeldring 6
85256 Vierkirchen

    +49 8139 9300-0
    info@who-needs-spam.micronova.de

» Anfahrtsplan